Bishop Quarter Award and our Vicariate V Christifideles Awardees

Congratulations Marge Garbacz, on receiving the Bishop Quarter Award and our Vicariate V Christifideles Awardees


Each year, the Archdiocese of Chicago grants two kinds of awards to lay men and women for their dedication to the church and its ministries. The Bishop Quarter and Christifideles awards were conferred Oct. 7 at Holy Name Cathedral.


The Bishop Quarter Award, named for Bishop William Quarter, the first bishop of Chicago, is given each year to a layperson or married couple in each vicariate who demonstrates consistent service to the ministries of the archdiocese’s vicariates. Vicariate V Episcopal vicar’s nominate recipient.



Vicariate V: Marge Garbacz, St. Symphorosa

Garbacz has been involved at St. Symphorosa as director of religious education and pastoral associate, and she volunteers as a lector and cantor, and with the RCIA program. She has contributed to the formation of catechists in Vicariate V through her presentations about liturgy and the four pillars of formation. She now serves as chaplain for Franciscan Village in Lemont, ministering to the spiritual needs of senior citizens.


The Christifideles Award is given to Catholic laypeople who have, by participating in parish life, demonstrated the personal and ministerial renewal called for by the papal exhortation “Christifideles Laici,” calling the laity to the “vocation of responsibility for the church’s life springing from the gift and mission of their baptism.” This year’s Vicariate V recipients are listed below.


Vicariate V: 

St. Albert the Great, Burbank Janina Galica
St Alexander , Palos Heights Eric Stroner
  Amy Pannaralla
St. Alphonsus Diane Kaye
St. Bernadette, Evergreen Park Elizabeth O’Connell
St. Catherine of Alexandria Kathy Terborg
Sts. Cyril and Methodius, Lemont Kitty L. Shannon
St. Damian, Oak Forest Barbara Lakomiak
  Deborah Hartigan
St. Denis Rita Leary
St. Elizabeth Seton, Orland Hills Carol and Harold Davis
St. Fabian, Bridgeview Paula Kroll
St. Francis of Assisi, Orland Park James Walsh
St. Gerald, Oak Lawn Charles and Mary L. Keiner
  Frances La Bella
St. Jane De Chantal  Ken Zaragoza
St. Joseph, Summit Stan Dron
St. Julie Billiart, Tinley Park Joanne Tuzik
St. Louis De Montfort, Oak Lawn Cecilia M. Beyer
St. Michael, Orland Park Amparo Gutierres
Our Lady of the Ridge, Chicago Ridge Marianne Gillfillan
Our Lady of the Snows Carmen Nelson
Our Lady of the Woods, Orland Park Stephen and Kristina Kahn
St. Patricia, Hickory Hills Anita Kieca
St. Patrick, Lemont Richard and Linda Rybski
Sacred Heart, Palos Hills Mary Loffredo
St. Symphorosa Thomas and Margaret DeRose


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *